Editors are your content authors that can create content, but not publish live entries to the site. Whenever an editor saves and entry, it will be saved as disabled.
After saving a new entry for the first time, Editors have access to the following panel on the right-hand side of the editing screen:
When the editor is ready to publish this entry, they can press the Submit for review button. This will lock the entry, so they are unable to make further changes, create a Submission element, and email all users in the Publishers group of their submission.
Once submitted, editors can no longer edit the entry, with the below indicator: